Roles grant certain permissions to users. You can create different roles with different sets of permissions. Users can have more than one role assigned to them.
Role permissions are broken up into sections according to the Administrator Widgets that each permission gives the user access to. If a user is assigned a role that has even a single permission checked under that Widget’s section, the user will be able to see that Widget on the left side of the LMS. They will only be able to see the section(s) within that Widget that their permissions allow/require. Roles may have as many permissions checked as desired, from any of the different Widget sections. Users may be granted an unlimited number of roles.
The role of System Administrator cannot be deleted, and its permissions cannot be limited nor altered (System Administrator has all permissions). The role can be assigned to any number of users.
Note: The Administrator is not a user, nor a role (not to be confused with the System Administrator). The Administrator’s information is found in System > Account Settings. The Administrator does not have access to Learner Widgets, while a user with the System Administrator role does have access to Learner Widgets. Also note that the Administrator cannot create report subscriptions.
Clicking the button on the top right corner of the Roles box in the “Users & Groups” menu performs the same functionality as clicking “New Role” from the Roles page. To view more information and modification options for an existing role, click on the name of the role in the list.